Ayodeji Odeleye Wins NIM 2018 Young Managers Competition

The Nigerian Institute of Management (NIM) has declared Ayodeji Odeleye, an Estate Surveyor, as the winner of its 2018 Edition of Young Managers Competition (YMC) held in Lagos.

The five finalists were Ayodeji Odeleye (Winner), Iyeku Akinwale (first Runner up), Caleb Eke (Second Runner up), Ibidunni Lawani (Third Runner up) and Akinkunmi Elizabeth (Fourth Runner).

The star prize for the winner is a prize of 1.5 million, while the first, second and the third runners up were rewarded with 800,000, 500,000 and 200,000 worth of management training at NIM Headquarters respectively.

Ayodeji Odeleye emerged the winner after a successful presentation and assessment at the event aimed at nuturing the development and growth of young managers. According to the NIM President and Chairman of Council, Olakunle Iyanda:

“The Young Managers Competition is one of the institute’s contributions to the development and growth of young managers.

It is an annual competition established in 1974 to ensure that young graduate managers, between the ages of 25 and 40 years, are imbued with competence, to use their skills in tackling management problems and challenges.”

Olakunle Iyanda said that the Institute had continually reviewed and revised the contents and format of the competition in order to make it more intellectually challenging, relevant, current and credible. He said the competition had adopted a two-tier approach, which has an individual as well as a team component rather than the previous competition which was reports among individual contestants.

Iyanda said that for 2018 competition, 246 young managers, men and women, applied for the competition, but only 154 participated in an online qualifying test and were narrowed to nine finalists and then five.

The NIM president, on behalf of the institute, expressed deep appreciation to the distinguished panel of judges for making their experiences and skills available.

He also acknowldeged the individuals and corporate organisation that had been sponsoring the competition over the years.

Leave a Reply