Call for Entries: 2017 PositiveNaija Annual Essay Competition


The 2017 PositiveNaija Annual Essay Competition aims to encourage Nigerian patriotism, nation building as well as a platform for excellence!


Objective: Inform the world through your essay, what genuinely makes Nigeria a great country today, which every Nigerian and Non-Nigerians should be proud of.


  • Essay submissions are free – at no cost to the participants
  • Open to all nationalities
  • PositiveNaija Team and the Advisory Judges are not eligible

Continue reading Call for Entries: 2017 PositiveNaija Annual Essay Competition

Nigerians Emerge Accra Weizo Winners [2017]

Accra Weizo is an annual Tourism event for the ECOWAS region which is organised by Akwaaba African Travel Market and it is held in Accra, Ghana.

Stella Obinwa, the Director of International Operations in charge of Africa for Dubai Tourism won the Travel Personality of the Year for West Africa.

SAHCOL was voted as the Best Handling company in West Africa.

The Top 100 Travel and Tourism Personalities in West Africa were also honoured at the event.

Mr Frank Nneji the CEO of ABC Transport won the award in recognition of his trail blazing effort which has transformed land transportation across West Africa and in the process linking several countries conveniently through the gesture.
Leading travel promoters in Nigeria and Ghana equally emerged winners of the award, among whom are Mrs Uloma Egbuna, the Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of Tour Brokers International; Mr Simon Grindrod, the General Manager of The Wheatbaker Lagos; Dr Michael Pinder, Group General Manager, Sun Heaven Hotels and Resorts, and Mr Lehlohonolo Hloni Pitso, the Regional Manager West Africa for South African Tourism’s regional Africa office based in Lagos, Nigeria.

According to Mr Ikechi Uko, organiser of the awards:

“The Top 100 Tourism Personalities was set up to recognise individuals who have distinguished themselves and through their efforts or that of their organisations have impacted positively on the travel and tourism sector across the West African sub region.
Also the personalities whose efforts have stimulated and helped to achieve their individual country’s tourism goals and forging interactions among stakeholders and customers across the region.”

Vicfold Recyclers Wins 2017 #youforG20 Competition

Vicfold Recyclers project in Nigeria has won the #youforG20 competition. The initiative champions recycling plastic waste. At the same time, it creates job opportunities. In the federal state of Kwara, Vicfold Recyclers has established a network of deposit points and plastic collectors (above all unemployed women and young people) gather empty bottles and other waste products at the doorstep and in this way earn a little money. As a result, countless families have now managed to improve their incomes.

The concept won over the six-person jury consisting of representatives of the German Foreign Office and the editorial desk of as well as the testimonials of the campaign. Vicfold Recyclers will receive financial support totalling 15,000 Euro to help move the project forward.

More than 220 initiatives from all over the world competed in the #youforG20 competition. The call was for projects that in a very emphatic manner tackled a social or economic issue, or a matter of environmental policy and help improve people’s living conditions.

Chioma Ukonu Emerge 2nd At 2017 Chivas Venture Competition

Chioma Ukonu, co-founder and COO of RecyclePoints has won 2nd place and a prize of US$ 200,000 at the 2017 Chivas Venture Competition. Chioma Ukonu emerged victorious after a rigorous voting and pitching process involving inspirational social entrepreneurs from 32 countries, with the grand final in Los Angeles.

RecyclePoints is enabling individuals, particularly from low-income households, to create value from their everyday waste. It operates an incentive-based model which collects recyclable waste materials from registered households, and in turn rewards them with points, which they can accumulate and redeem for cash or other useful items offered through their iRecycle Store. The company employs young ‘Wastebusters’ to ride its electric tricycles and collect door-to-door recyclable waste such as plastic bottles, aluminum cans, newspapers, or cartons. These items are then processed at the company’s Collection & Sorting Hub by unemployed women within the community, and sold on to recycling plants to use as raw materials for new products. RecyclePoints supports environmental sustainability, and engages the community to be part of the solution. With additional funds the company is hoping to expand its operations and impact, within its current city and to other states, purchasing new equipment and replicating its solution in a franchise model.

The global competition staged by Chivas Regal, was launched with a mission to find promising, up-and-coming startups that also have a positive impact on the world.

The Chivas Venture Competition was open to startups that have a working business model and at the same time, create social good with their endeavors. With 32 countries taking part, each region held its regional round, with winners eventually being selected to participate in the grand finals for a chance to win and share a stake from the US$1 million social entrepreneurship fund. The ultimate aim of The Venture is to find and support the most promising startups with the potential to succeed financially and make a positive impact on the lives of others.

Nigeria Wins 9 Awards At 2017 AMAA

Nigeria has won nine (9) awards at the 13th African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) held at the EKO Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

  1. Best animation: Got Flowers (Nigeria)
  2. Achievement in production design: ’76‬ (Nigeria)
  3. Achievement in makeup: Oloibiri (Nigeria)
  4. Best production: ’76 (Nigeria)
  5. Lagos state award for best Nigerian film: ’76 (Nigeria)
  6. Tony Elumelu award for best comedy: 3 Wise Men (Nigeria)
  7. Best actress in a supporting role: Angelique Kidjo (CEO: Nigeria)
  8. AMAA lifetime achievement award: Nkem Owoh (Nigeria)
  9. Best director: Akin Omotosho (Vaya: South Africa)


Team Nigeria Wins 2017 Kovalevskaya Award for International Journey

Team Nigeria wins 2017 Sofia Kovalevskaya Award for International Journey

Awarded to teams that documented and shared their FIRST Global experience with the rest of the FIRST Global community

  1. Gold: Team Nigeria
  2. Silver: France
  3. Bronze: Madagascar

FIRST Global ( caps off the three-day robotics competition that saw one high-school team from each of the nearly 160 participating nations compete to address one of the world’s most pressing issues – water security. Accomplished inventor, Dean Kamen founded FIRST Global with the mission to inspire an interest in science and technology development among the 2 billion youth of the world and ensuring that every child has the chance to obtain necessary science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) skills to overcome the greatest challenges our world faces.

The games – aimed at addressing water security – concluded with the Award Ceremony, during which teams were awarded gold, silver, and bronze medals in ten categories – both qualitative and quantitative in nature – highlighting the qualities that FIRST Global aims to inspire in the STEM leaders of tomorrow. The winners (listed below) were selected by an international panel of judges comprised of members of the STEM community who have been part of the FIRST Global Challenge experience from the beginning.