Flying Eagles Emerge WAFU Zone B Champions 2022

The Flying Eagles have emerged WAFU Zone B Champions 2022 in Niger Republic after defeating Benin Republic 3-1 in the final on May 21, 2022.

A brace from Tolulope Ojo and a goal from Ibrahim Muhammad sealed the win for Ladan Bosso’s team. Benin Republic’s consolation goal was scored by Farid Edou late in the game.

The Flying Eagles took the lead in the 40th minute through Ojo who converted from the penalty spot after Mahougnon Aloya stopped a scoring opportunity with his arm. He was also sent off.

In the 70th minute, Ojo got his brace as he volleyed past the Benin Republic keeper time make it 2-0.

Muhammad then added the third goal in the 77th minute after capitalizing on an error by the opposition keeper Dava Agossa.

With six minutes left Edou pulled a goal back for the French speaking country but the Flying Eagles held on to emerge winners.

Both Flying Eagles and Benin Republic will represent the WAFU Zone B at next year’s U-20 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The continental tournament will serve as the qualifiers for the 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Indonesia.

The West African Football Union, officially abbreviated as WAFU-UFOA and WAFU, is an association of the football playing nations in West Africa. It was the brainchild of the Senegal Football Federation who requested that the nations belonging to CAF’s Zone A and B meet and hold a regular competitive tournament.

Notify of

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments