Francis James & Patience Daylop Win 2023 Abeokuta 10 Kilometers Race [Nigerian Category]

Francis James and Patience Daylop have emerged winners in the Nigerian category of the 2023 Abeokuta 10 Kilometers Race.

Patience Daylop received $1,000 as well as one million Naira prize money in her category.

Francis James from Plateau state won the race as the first Nigerian athlete to cross the line on 31 minutes, 08 seconds and received one million Naira prize money.

Speaking with journalists, Francis James said Nigerian athletes would soon catch up with their counterparts from the East Africa nations with adequate preparations and motivations.

Peter Nwaniki crossed the finish line on 28 minutes, 14 seconds to emerge overall winner of the 2023 Abeokuta 10 Kilometers Race and received $5,000 prize money.

Kiypeko Kennedy also from Kenya came second with 29 minutes 29 seconds and received $3,000 while Kibil Frederic received $1,000 prize money for crossing the finish line on 30 minutes 21 seconds.

In the women elite category, Kipsiror Shamillar from Kenya crossed the line on 32 minutes, 22 seconds to emerge winner, Violah Jepkosgei came second with 34 minutes, 34 seconds while Patience Daylop from Plateau state came third and also the first female Nigerian athlete to cross the line on 36 minutes, 36 seconds.

The initiator of the race who is also the Chairman, Local Organising Committee for the 2024 National Youths Festival,  Chief Bukola Olopade expressed satisfaction with the outcome of the race, noting that the race would continue to get better annually.

Notify of

1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments