OAU Wins 2018 CFA Society Nigeria Ethics Challenge

Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, has won the national finals of the 2018 Ethics Challenge of the CFA Society Nigeria sponsored by FirstBank of Nigeria Limited.

OAU emerged winner ahead of the University of Lagos (UNILAG) and University of Nigeria (UNN), who came second and third respectively in a competition that involved 15 universities.

According to the President of CFA Society Nigeria, Banji Fehintola:

“Ethics is important. It is the cornerstone of our industry, and we wanted to pass this message on. So three years ago, we started running the ethics challenge for university students. We started with two; had seven last year and 15 universities this year.

The competition ran in Lagos and Abuja, and all the credit goes to FirstBank, our sponsors for increasing the scope of the contest to promote ethics amongst Nigerians.”

Group Executive, Treasury and Financial Institutions, FirstBank Nigeria Limited, Ini Ebong stated:

“FirstBank is the oldest financial institution in this country. We will be celebrating our 125th anniversary next year, and we wouldn’t have survived this long without making ethics and corporate governance vital components of our operations.

We are proud to be associated with the CFA Ethics Challenge because we are passionate about ethics as a responsible corporate organisation.”

Faculty Adviser of the OAU Presentation Team, Lawal Quadri on the victory stated:

“We feel very excited, mainly because we were here last year but came second. We had to put additional effort in order not to let our school down. We are very grateful to CFA Society as well as FirstBank.

FirstBank is an excellent host; they took care of us, and I think other organisations should emulate the bank in promoting ethics and bringing out the best in students.”

The three universities had earlier emerged as finalists at the national finals of the CFA Ethics Challenge held in Lagos. Four universities initially qualified from a regional preliminary held in Lagos while two had emerged from the Abuja elimination round. While the University of Lagos, Babcock University, University of Benin and Obafemi Awolowo University qualified from the preliminary round in Lagos, UNN and the University of Ilorin emerged from the first round in Abuja. The six universities contested in the national final.

Leave a Reply