Team Nigeria Wins 24 Medals At 2018 Commonwealth Games

Team Nigeria finished the 2018 Commonwealth Games, in Gold Coast, Australia in ninth place with a total of 24 medals which included nine gold, nine silver and six bronze. The 2018 Commonwealth Games was held between April 4 to April 15, 2018.

Track and field athlete Blessing Okagbare was Nigeria’s flag bearer during the opening ceremony.

Nigeria’s Winners at the 2018 Commonwealth Games


Aruna Quadri won a silver medal for Team Nigeria in the tables tennis event after he lost 4-2 to Ning Gao of Singapore in the final match.

The Indians defeated Team Nigeria in the final both, Segun Toriola and teammates won a silver medal for their efforts.

Faith Obazuaye won a silver after a 6-10 loss to Australia’s Melissa Tapper in the women’s para table tennis final event.

Faith Obazuaye won Team Nigeria a silver medal after a 3-1 loss to Australia’s Melissa Tapper in the women’s TT6-10 TableTennis event.


Tobi Amusan  won gold medal for Nigeria in the 110m hurdles event, as she finished with a time of 12.68s. Amusan also made history as she became the first Nigerian female hurdler to win gold at the Games.

Suwaibidu Galadima won a gold medal for Nigeria in the men’s T47 100m Final as he finished with a time of 11.04s.

4x400m relay team of Patience Okon-George, Glory Nathaniel, Praise Idamadudu and Yinka Ajayi won a silver medal for Nigeria with a time of 3m:25.29s

4x100m relay team of Udo Gabriel, Blessing Okagbare, Tobi Amusan and Rosemary Chukwuma won a bronze medal for team Nigeria with a time of 42.75s.

Boxing & Wrestling

Yetunde Odunuga won a bronze medal for team Nigeria in the women’s 60kg boxing event after her quarterfinal victory over Canada’s Caroline Veyre.

Milicent Agboegbulem also won a bronze medal for Nigeria in the women’s 75kg boxing event after she defeated Kenya’s Elizabeth Andiego  in their quarterfinal encounter.

Odunayo Adekuoroye was victorious for Nigeria in the women’s 57kg wrestling freestyle event, as she defeated India’s of the Pooja Dhanda in the final.

Blessing Oborodudu defeated Canada’s Danielle Lappage in the women’s 68kg wrestling freestyle event.

Amas Daniel wins gold in wrestling Men’s Freestyle 65 kg event after he defeated Canada’s Vincent De Marinis  3-1 on points

Ebikewenimo Welson defeated South Africa’s Jan Combrinck to win a bronze medal in Men’s Freestyle 57 kg wrestling event.

Bose Samuel defeated Sri Lanka’s Deepika Mudiyanselage to win another bronze in the Women’s Freestyle 53 kg Nordic System.

Blessing Onyebuchi won silver medal in Women’s Freestyle 76 kg event after defeating India’s Kiran.


Roland Ezuruike beat his compatriot with a total point of 224.3, Paul Kehinde (219.9 points) to win gold in the powerlifting event which added a gold and silver to Nigeria medal haul.

Ezuruike became the first Nigerian to claim a gold medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Abdulazeez Ibrahim also won gold for Nigeria with a total point of 191.9.

In the female category, Esther Oyema amassed 141.6 to beat compatriot Esther Ejike who had 134.1 to add a gold and silver to Nigeria’s medal haul. With her feat, Esther Oyema created a new world record.

Ndidi Nwosu won Nigeria another gold medal in the powerlifting heavyweight category with a total of 110.4 points.

Shot Put

Shot putter Chukwuebuka Enekwechi won Nigeria’s first medal (silver) in the athletics event with a throw of 21.14 which is his personal best.

Reward for Nigerian Winners at the 2018 Commonwealth Games

The Federal Government of Nigeria through the Ministry of Sports presented cash awards to medalists at the XXI Commonwealth games in Gold Coast, Australia.

Gold medalists got $5,000, silver winners received $3,000 while bronze medalists were rewarded with $2,000 for their efforts.

The brief ceremony was supervised by the Minister of Youth and Sports, Barrister Solomon Dalung while presentations were made by the former Head of state and FG leader of delegation to the games, General Yakubu Gowon (rtd) alongside Nigeria Olympic Committee President, Engineer Habu Gumel.

President of Nigeria Wrestling Federation, Honorable Daniel Igali presented a cash reward of $1,000 dollar each to all gold medalists in addition to the Federal Government cash.

Leave a Reply