Winners Of Inaugural Maltina School Games

Winners have emerged in the maiden edition of Maltina School Games held at the Sports Complex of Yaba College of Technology in Lagos.

17-year-old Joy Ojo of Ijaiye Housing Estate Senior High School emerged as the Overall Best Athlete of the national final

The budding star won three gold medals in 100 meters, 200 meters and 4x 100 meters race to become the first winner of the major prize and earn for herself a scholarship to any Federal University of choice.

Aside Ojo’s feat, Lagos State also emerged as the overall winner of the event with 21 Gold, 15 Silver and five Bronze medals just as Federal Capital Territory (FCT) placed second with four Gold, 13 Silver and 10 Bronze. Kano State was third with four Gold, and six Bronze medals while Anambra took the rear with three Gold, 4 Silver and 11 Bronze medals.

In other awards, Sikirat Anifowoshe won the Best Junior Girl award with Gold medals in 100 meters and 4 x 100 gold races while Moses Okon of EUBA Junior Secondary School, Lagos won the Best Junior Boy athlete with gold medals in 400 meters and 4 x 100 relay.

Joy Ojo also doubled as the Best Senior Girl with gold medals in the events that gave her the best overall winner just as Onyebuchi Nnebedum of Christ Redeemer College, Anambra State won the Best Male Athlete with gold medals in Javelin and Shot put events.

The Maltina School Games is a new intervention in School Sports by the country’s number one family drink from the stable of Nigeria Breweries PLC.

Over 20 million children have been impacted in this maiden edition of the Maltina School Games.

Leave a Reply