Winners Of Nigerian Triathlon Championship [2018]

Winners have emerged in the 5th edition of the Nigerian Triathlon Championship, which was concluded at the Lagos National Stadium Surulere.

Williams Gbekemiye emerged champion as he beat Perelate Gbagi and Ibrahim Akinlabi to the second and third places respectively in the Elite triathlon event.

In the female Elite Triathlon, Rosemary Marcus finished first, Gloria Odiaze came second, while Joy Tonjor finished third. In the Male Junior Triathlon, only two participants contested for hours. Sadiq Yahaya finished first while Osamuyiwa Uyi finished second.

In the Junior Duathlon (female), Alabi Yemisi won the gold, Kate Oyewole picked the silver while Adedotun Oluwapelumi won the bronze. In the Elite Duathlon (male), Adeniran Opeyemi won the bronze, Odunayo Adeyemi finished second, while Oke Itunu Joseph finished third.

In Elite Duathlon (female), Ukpeseraye Ese finished first, Happy Okafor was second while Glory Effiong finished third. In the Junior Duathlon (male), Aluko Kehinde finished first, Michael Segun ended second, Masud Garba picked the bronze.

In the Cadet Duathlon (male) Akinsemoyin Faruk finished first, while Malik Sanni picked the silver.

Apart from medals, the athletes got cash prizes and gift items made available by the sponsors.

According to the outgoing President of the Nigeria Triathlon Union, Dr. Lanre Glover:

“I must commend everyone that contributed to the success of the event. First, I must thanks the athletes who turned out in large number, our officials and the members of the NTU board.

I must also thank our sponsors – Linkage Assurance, DHL, De United (Indomie), Grand Oak Nigeria Limited for their unflinching support.”

About 106 athletes from 21 states and seven clubs took part in the championship.

Leave a Reply