2017 AAS & ACU CIRCLE Fellows

12 Nigerian lecturers and scientists have been awarded as CIRCLE fellows by the African Academy of Sciences (AAS) and the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), to study the impact of climate change.

They were selected from tertiary institutions in Nigeria including the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB); Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU); Ebonyi State University (EBSU); University of Ibadan; University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT); Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) and Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU.

The Nigerians and 25 others drawn from tertiary institutions in Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa, Sudan, Uganda and Zimbabwe, were participants in the 3rd cohort of a programme supporting early career researchers to conduct research and to generate knowledge to help the continent effectively tackle climate change. They make up the 37 African lecturers and researchers scientists selected as Visiting Fellows of the Climate Impact Research Capacity and Leadership Enhancement (CIRCLE) visiting fellowship programme.

Leave a Reply