3 Nigerian Journalists Win At 2018 West Africa Media Excellence Awards

Three Nigerian journalists have emerged winners of their categories at the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards held in Accra.

The Nigerian contingent clinched three of the final prizes in Investigative Reporting, Business and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Anthony Akaeze of Tell and the International Centre for Investigative Reporting won the Investigative Reporting while Victor Ekwealor and Adam Alqali emerged winners in the Business and SDGs category respectively.

Two PREMIUM TIMES journalists who made the final 18 were runners-up in their categories. While Olawoyin Oladehinde emerged runner-up in the Business Reporting category, Kemi Busari made the same feat in the anti-corruption category.

The West Africa Media Excellence awards in its second year attracted over 600 entries, shortlisted to 18, from West African journalists.

The 18 finalists competed in seven categories.

Ghanaian journalists also emerged victorious with three winners. Manasseh Azure Awuni won the Anti-corruption category, Richard Nyako, the Telecommunications category and Seth Kwame Boateng, Health.

Nabaloum Abdel Aziz of Burkina Faso was adjudged best in Human Rights category to complete the list.

Each of the winners were presented certificates, plaques, $500 cash prize and availed other opportunities.

For the biggest prize of the night, Manasseh Azure Awuni was announced as West Africa Journalist of the Year with the prize tag of $2,000.

One of the judges, Elizabeth Ohene stated that the judges looked out for industry, good story telling, simple language among other things.

Notify of

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments