Marianne Olaleye Shortlisted As A Winner Of 2018 Portrait Of Britain

Marianne Olaleye, a Nigerian photographer has emerged winner after her selection in the Portrait of Britain shortlist for her portrait of Aisha.

The British Journal of Photography organises the photography competition, which is all about inclusivity, celebrating differences and similarities in the United Kingdom.

Continue reading Marianne Olaleye Shortlisted As A Winner Of 2018 Portrait Of Britain

Victor Ekwealor Emerge 2018 Digital Rights And Inclusion Media Fellowship Pioneer Fellow

Victor Ekwealor and Togolese Emmanuel Agbenonwossi have emerged as the pioneer Fellows for the newly introduced Digital Rights and Inclusion Media Fellowship.

The Digital Rights and Inclusion Media Fellowship is a project of Paradigm Initiative, a social enterprise dedicated to the promotion of digital rights and inclusion in Africa.

The fellowship attracted 116 applications from 19 countries.

Continue reading Victor Ekwealor Emerge 2018 Digital Rights And Inclusion Media Fellowship Pioneer Fellow

Yushau Abdulhameed Shuaib & Nigerian Prisons Service Win 2018 Golden World Awards (GWA)

Yushau Abdulhameed Shuaib and Nigerian Prisons Service (NPS) have won 2018 Golden World Awards (GWA) in the respective categories of Publications and Crisis Management.

The Golden World Awards (GWA) instituted by the International Public Relations Association (IPRA), honoured Yushau Abdulhameed Shuaib for his work on “Boko Haram Media War” with Image Merchants Promotion being the PR Agency.

The Nigerian Prisons Service (NPS) was honoured for a media campaign on Prison Decongestion and the plight of Awaiting Trial Inmates (ATI) with Image Merchants Promotion being the PR Agency.

The award ceremony takes place in Barcelona, Spain in October 2018.

The NPS’ campaign which was executed by award-winning Image Merchants Promotion Limited, publishers of PRNigeria and Economic Confidential respectively, created massive public awareness for mass-mobilization and positive response from the concerned stakeholders who deployed legal and constitutional procedures to address the challenges of the alarming statistics of ATI.

The NPS is the first security agency in Africa to have won the award on Crisis Management.

The Prison service has previously won awards for Superior Achievement in Branding and Engagement (SABRE) hosted by the African Public Relations Association (APRA) in Botswana. It received Public Education Award and Certificate of Excellence on Public Sector.

The prison decongestion campaign was listed among the finalists after the first round of online adjudicating for the 2018 IPRA GWA nominees before the judges converged on Belgium to select the final winners.

The campaign was approved by the Controller General of Prison, Ahmed Ja’afaru. With support from the Centre for Crisis Communication (CCC) and Prisoners’ Rehabilitation and Welfare Action (PRAWA), some of the campaign strategies included Facility Tours of Prisons, Media Relations, Training of Prisons Public Relations Officers and Stakeholders Engagements. The outcomes included the enhanced capacity of PR Officers with fair media coverage, editorial mentions and robust Stakeholders’ Participation. Between January to December 2017, the campaigns were successful as the statistics of the ATI dropped to 66% by the end (December) 2017. Factors responsible for the awaiting trial inmates in Nigeria include but not limited to high remand in custody, lack of speedy trials, overuse of imprisonment rather than fine on lesser offences by the courts, abuse of arrest powers and bail conditions by the police.

The annual IPRA Golden World Awards (GWA) initiative, established in 1990, recognizes excellence in public relations practice worldwide in a variety of categories. Recipients of the award take pride in the recognition granted their entries as meeting international standards of excellence in public relations. An overall IPRA Grand Prix for Excellence is presented each year to the entry judged as representing the highest standards that year.