Aderemi Raji-Oyelade Awarded 2018 European Commission’s Staff Mobility for Teaching Award

Professor Aderemi Raji-Oyelade of the University of Ibadan, Oyo State, has emerged the recipient of the European Commission’s Erasmus+ Staff Mobility for Teaching Award.

The Erasmus+ programme is a funding scheme to support activities in the fields of Education, Training, Youth and Sport. Between February 20 and 22, 2018, Professor Aderemi Raji-Oyelade was awarded the prestigious 2017 Humboldt Alumni award and Humboldt Conference Award, which the scholar convened at University of Ibadan Conference Centre.

According to a statement by the Dean, Faculty of Arts, UI, Professor Ademola Omobewaji Dasylva, the Nigeria’s premier University is the only African country listed on the Erasmus+ Staff Mobility Grant (Project 2017-1-HR01-KA107-035107), referring to cooperation with higher education institutions, alongside other non-EU countries including Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Kyrgyzstan, Mauritius, Montenegro, and Russian Federation.

In the words of Professor Ademola Omobewaji Dasylva:

“Under the Key Action 1 Activity granted to Nigeria, among five non-EU countries, Raji-Oyelade will be Visiting Professor to Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek, Croatia where he will teach African literature and cultural studies in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of UNIOS.”

The Erasmus+ programme awards financial supports to individual incoming and outgoing teaching and non-teaching staff mobilities, which objective is teaching or training at a selected partner higher education institution (HEI) in selected partner countries, for the purpose of studying or teaching at the University of Osijek, Croatia. The visiting scholarship will be utilized in May, 2018

The Vice Chancellor of UI, Professor Abel Idowu Olayinka while expressing his felicity on behalf of UI and its members, stated:

“Raji-Oyelade is a blessing to our university. He has brought many medals to our university. He is a good ambassador of the university. Raji-Oyelade is one out of the many reputable scholars we have in this university. I am always very proud of the Department of English Language of the University of Ibadan, which has produced international scholars like Professor Niyi Osundare, Professor Chinua Achebe, Professor Wole Soyinka, and Professor J.P. Clark.”

Olayinka added that another scholar that has brought glory to University of Ibadan, is Dr. Esther Eyiuche of the Department of Agronomy, who just won the 2018 Young Award by the Society for In Vitro Biology, SIVB, Raleigh, North Carolina, USA, in recognition of her contributions and achievements in the Vitro sciences.

Leave a Reply