Akwa United Wins 2017 AITEO Cup

Akwa United have emerged as champions of the maiden AITEO Cup after claiming a 3-2 penalty win over Niger Tornadoes at Agege Stadium, Lagos.

The AITEO Cup was formerly the Federation Cup, which Akwa United won in 2015.

It was goalless all through the 90 minutes and the game went straight to penalty kicks.

With their win, Akwa United receives 25 million and would also be representing Nigeria in the CAF Confederation Cup.

On their part, Niger Tornadoes, who eliminated defending champions, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, to make it to the Lagos final receives 10 million.

Leave a Reply