Nasarawa Amazons Emerge 2016/2017 Nigeria Women Premier League Champions

Nasarawa Amazons emerge champions of the 2016/2017 Nigeria Women Premier League after defeating Delta Queens 1-0 at the Super Four tournament held in Benin.

The Amazons had defeated Bayelsa Queens 1-0, holders Rivers Angels 2-1 and drew 2-2 with Delta Queens in the round-robin games before edging the Kwale based side to the league crown.

Amarachi Okoronkwo’s 42nd minute┬ádiving header handed the Christopher Danjuma’s ladies their second trophy in history after their first in 2013.

The win means Nasarawa Amazons are champions, carting away the trophy and 3.5 million naira cash prize, while runners-up Delta Queens and third place winners Bayelsa receive 2.5 and 1.5 million Naira respectively.

Leave a Reply