Asisat Oshoala Wins 2017 CAF Women’s Player Of The Year Award

Asisat Oshoala has been named the 2017 CAF Women’s Player of the Year footballer in Accra, Ghana.

Asisat Oshoala previously won the award in 2014 and 2016. She beat Cameroonian Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene and Chrestina Kgatlana of South Africa to the top prize.

In her words:

“2017 has truly been an emotional journey for me.

This is truly one of the best moments in my career. I want to encourage young girls out there to not let people discourage you and to follow your own heart.”

The former Arsenal Ladies and Liverpool Ladies player inspired her Chinese side Dalian Quanjian to a double with 19 goals – the club’s second title in their history and Cup double and she was crowned the League’s Best Striker.

10 Nigerians have now won ten (10) of the fifteen (15) CAF African Women Footballer of the Year Awards.

  • 4 – Perpetua Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2009, 2011)
  • 3 – Asisat Oshoala (2014, 2016, 2017)
  • 2 – Cynthia Uwak (2006, 2007)
  • 1 – Mercy Akide (2001)

Leave a Reply