Balogun Fulani FC Wins 2016 CBN All Financial Institutions Football Cup Title

Debutant Micro Finance Bank, Balogun Fulani FC defeated the defending champions First Bank FC to lift the 30th edition of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) All Financial Institutions Football Competition held at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Balogun Fulani FC defeated the defending champions First Bank FC 5-4 on penalties after both sides ended the encounter 1-1 at regulation time.

Earlier, Federal Ministry of Finance team defeated Lavun Pam MFB team by 7 goals to 4 in an explosive third place match that also ended in penalty shoot-out.

At the medals presentation ceremony, the CBN Governor, Mr Godwin Emefiele commended the players and officials for the high standard of play exhibited during the competition.

The CBN Governor represented by the Deputy Governor (Financial System Stability), Dr. Okwu Joseph Nnanna noted that the institution took up sponsorship of the competition as part of its Social Corporate Responsibility.

He assured that the Bank was committed to the promotion of football development in Nigeria, noting that the annual event had grown in terms of number of participating financial institutions.

Emefiele implored all other financial institutions yet to participate in the competition to register for next year’s edition.

This, he noted, would promote the health of all stakeholders in the financial system and ultimately ensure higher productivity among workers in the sector.

The CBN Governor expressed gratitude to the Government of Akwa Ibom State, State Commissioner of Sports and the Football Association Chairman for assisting the Bank in securing the magnificent stadium.

He also commended Samson Siasia, a former Super Eagles Coach for gracing the event as a special guest.

Leave a Reply