Odunayo Adekuoroye Is World No. 1 Female Wrestler – 55 kg [2017]

Nigerian female wrestler, Odunayo Adekuoroye, has emerged world number one at the 55 kg category following adjustment to re-align the rankings with entry lists for the August 21-26 world championships.

The feat was possible for the  2014 Commonwealth gold medalist as world champion Mayu Mukaida of Japan drops to 53 kg in the championship.

Adekuoroye, second-ranked last month at 55 kg, won the Golden Grand Prix Final last November in Baku and also claimed a gold medal at the 2017 African senior championships in April.

In the words of an elated Odunayo Adekuoroye:

“I’m amazed and perplexed about this current ranking. I want to thank my father in the Lord, Dr Daniel Olukoya who have always believed in me. I’m forever [grateful].”

IAAF Appoints Solomon Ogba As Chief Scrutineer [2017]

Former President of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN), Solomon Ogba, has been appointed as Chief Scrutineer for the 51st IAAF Congress in London.

This was contained in a letter signed by the manager of Institutional Forums, in the Governance, Member & International Relations Department, Anne-Marie Garrigan of the IAAF which states that:

“It is a pleasure to inform you that during its meeting on 31st July 2017, the IAAF Council has nominated you as a Scruitneer during the [upcoming] 51st IAAF Congress on 3rd August 2017.”

Others Scrutineeers are Bahamas Association of Athletic Associations, BAAA Chief, Rosamunde Carey, Mozambique Sarifa Fagilde, Kwan Kee from Hong Kong, Yoonis Yaqoob Issa Al Siyabi Timor Leste, Nijole Medvedeva from Lithuania, Israeli Jack Cohen, Canadia Gordon Orlikow, Linda Hammersley from New Zealand, Brian Roe from Australia, Mirian Cristina Ermacora from Argentina, and Manuel Bravo from Ecuador.

The 51st IAAF Congress in London took place at the venue of the World Championships. The 2017 IAAF World Championship is the 16th edition and will hold August 4-13. It is to be sprinter Usain Bolt’s and distance runner Mo Farah’s last.


Sodiq Taiwo & Yemisi Olatunji Win Zimbabwe Open Squash Championship [2017]

Sodiq Taiwo, has won Zimbabwe Open Squash Championship after beating compatriot Olanrewaju Abulrahaman 3-2 in a closely contested final at Suburbs Squash Club. Yemisi Olatunji beat Zimbabwean Yvonne Mubure 3-0 in the women’s final. Olatunji was awarded $750.

Continue reading Sodiq Taiwo & Yemisi Olatunji Win Zimbabwe Open Squash Championship [2017]