Dr. Olusegun Fagbohun & Lois Sanni win AFSCAN Awards 2017

The African Small Companion Animal Network (AFSCAN) has announced the recipients of its 2017 Research and Studentship Awards, which encourage small animal clinical research relevant to Africa and help train and develop veterinary students and academics working in Africa.

This marks the second year for the awards.

2017 Research Awards:
  • Dr. Olusegun A. Fagbohun from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria, received funding for a two-year project entitled: “Molecular Epidemiology of Rabies Virus in Dogs in Nigeria.”  This award is supported by the Swiss Association for Small Animal Medicine. 
  • Dr. Hezron Nonga from the College of Veterinary and Medical Sciences, Sokoine University of Agriculture in Morogoro, Tanzania, will be funded for two years in a project studying how to better protect people by curbing zoonotic parasites in dogs. Dr. Nonga’s award is supported by Zoetis and the Petplan Charitable Trust.
2017 Studentship Awards:
  • Lois Sanni from the Federal University of Agriculture, Ogun State, Nigeria, will participate in evaluating lipid peroxidation and plasma antioxidant in arthritic and in nonarthritic dogs.
  • Esther Ombura from the University of Nairobi, Kenya, to devote time to looking at antimicrobial resistance in dogs.
  • Victor Ishengoma from the Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania, will use his award to collaborate on the project “Canine Transmissible Venereal Tumor in Tanzania: People’s Awareness and Disease Occurrence in Selected Villages in Morogoro.”

The Studentship Awards give fourth- or fifth-year African undergraduate veterinary students the opportunity to spend six to eight weeks participating in a research project related to disease or the welfare of companion animals of relevance to African society.

The AFSCAN project was launched in 2014 by the World Small Animal Veterinary Association Charitable Foundation in Dundas, Ontario, and is supported by Zoetis, a global animal health company headquartered in Parsippany, N.J., and Kruuse, a Danish veterinary equipment manufacturer, and other organizations that together form the AFSCAN Consortium.


One thought on “Dr. Olusegun Fagbohun & Lois Sanni win AFSCAN Awards 2017”

Comments are closed.