ENL Consortium Wins 2019 Maritime Cup

ENL Consortium, operators of Terminals C and D at the Lagos Port Complex Apapa, have defeated Josephdam Ports Services (JPS) to win the 2019 Maritime Cup.

In addition to winning the trophy, ENL Consortium also received a cash prize of 1 million Naira courtesy of the organisers.

The tension-soaked match, which was watched by the chief executives and top management officers of both organisations, stretched beyond 90 minutes into a penalty shootout. Josephdam opened scores in the 17th minute of play through its top striker, Akinbirin Peter, while ENL’s equalized in the 54th minute through Uche Sunday.

During the penalty shootout, ENL Consortium converted all its seven kicks, while Josephdam was only able to convert six out of seven. ENL won the trophy for the first time in the 11 years of the annual competition.

ENL did not particularly have a smooth ride to victory as it had to battle top-rated teams to advance to the final match. It defeated two of its Group A rivals, Dangote Ports Operation 5-0 and Higher Pacific International (HPI) 2-1, and played a 1-1 draw with Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) to qualify for the semi-final.

In the semi-final match played on Thursday, it defeated fellow Apapa port operator, Apapa Bulk Terminal Limited (ABTL) 2-0. In the third place match, ABTL defeated former champions, NPA 2-0 to clinch the tournament’s bronze medals. Josephdam’s Chibueze Hardy and Tosin Omoruwa won the Most Valuable Player and Best Goalkeeper respectively of the tournament while the Fair Play award was won by ABTL.

The Executive Vice Chairman/CEO of ENL Consortium, Princess Vicky Haastrup, who was at the pitch to cheer her team to victory, commended the players and officials for their professionalism.

According to her:

“This is a great competition and I am happy to be here. It was a tension-soaked match and as you could see, I was on my feet all through and I am happy we lifted the trophy for the first time.”

The final match was watched by a large crowd and several maritime industry dignitaries, including the representative of the Comptroller-General of Nigeria Customs Service, Deputy Comptroller Dera Nnadi; Chairman Shipowners Forum, Margaret Onyema-Orakwusi; the Managing Director of Apapa Bulk Terminal Limited, Captain Marvin Abe; the Executive Vice Chairman/CEO of ENL Consortium, Princess Vicky Haastrup; the Managing Director of Josephdam Port Services, Mr. Simon Travers, the Managing Director of Micura Services, Chief Mike Ubogu, and several others.

Leave a Reply