Iberiyenari Godstime Tamunofiri Wins 2018 Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP)

Iberiyenari Godstime Tamunofiri has emerged overall winner of the 2018 Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP).

Iberiyenari Godstime Tamunofiri, a 400-level student of Chemical Science at Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa clinched the first prize with her poem titled ‘Deep Dreams’.

Amagwula Nnenna Comfort, a 200-level student of Physiology at the University of Lagos came second with her poem ‘Yet Another Head’.

Ikeobi Samuel Chukwubuokem, a 500-level student of Electrical Electronics Engineering at the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta won the third prize with his poem ‘Two Sides of Hakeem’.

A five-man judging panel, including Ismail Bala, Soji Cole, Kukogho Iruesiri Samson, Saka Aliyu and Hulya Yilmaz, reviewed the entries to select the top 100 poems for inclusion in the NSPP 2018 Anthology.

University of Ibadan emerged as the best participating school and top performing school for the third time in a row.

The prize winners are entitled to total cash prize of 300,000 (sponsored by Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu) and an exclusive feature in the third volume of the NSPP Anthology.

The NSPP was instituted in 2016 to stimulate literary creativity among Nigerian students. Noah Oladele from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and and Bakre Fadil Adedamola from University of Ibadan won the 2016 & 2017 editions of the Prize respectively.

The 2018 edition of NSPP opened for submissions on January 15, 2018 and closed on March 7, 2018. The Prize received 464 poems from students drawn from over 80 tertiary institutions.

Leave a Reply