Rivers State Wins 2018 Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship

Team Rivers have emerged as the best state at the 2018 Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship in Abuja.

The state dethroned Lagos state to win the title with trophy and 100,000 prize. Lagos and Oyo states came second and third best respectively.

Moses Peter, representing Akwa Ibom state emerged the individual champion after winning 17.5 games with 1,247 aggregate. Moses Peter is the first Nigerian to win the national championship twice, also won trophy and 150,000.

Ogedengbe Olawale came second in that category with 17.5 games and 939 aggregate as well as 100,000.

The 2015 world scrabble champion, Wellington Jighere, came third with 17 games with 453 aggregate and went home with 70,000.

Moses Peter dedicated his victory to God, saying that hard work and the fact that he read hard and had been competing with others helped him a lot.

Leave a Reply