Sadjo Samuel And Rose Akuso Win Inaugural Ikogosi 10 Kilometers Marathon Race

Sadjo Samuel and Rose Akuso have emerged overall winners of the inaugural Ikogosi 10 kilometers marathon race.

Sadjo Samuel beat no fewer than 1,999 other athletes to the finish line in in 30 minutes 40 seconds to win the one million Naira cash prize.

Shehu Muazu emerged with a second place finish in 31 minutes 22 seconds and received a cash prize of 500,000 Naira.

Oyebode Dada Samuel came third at 31 minutes 48 seconds and received a cash prize of 300,000 Naira.

The race which was flagged off by the Ekiti State Deputy Governor, Otunba Bisi Egbeyemi in Aramoko starting point at 9:25 am on 14 December 2019 also had winners in other categories.

In the female elite category, Rose Akuso came first in 36 minutes 51 seconds of the race.

David Abiye finished second in 36 minutes 59 seconds, while Oman Sale came third.

They also received one million Naira; 500,000 Naira and 300,000 Naira respectively as their prizes.

In the female indigene category, Adewole Hannah Jumoke from Ikere Ekiti came first by reaching the finish line in 38 minutes 49 seconds and received a cash prize of one million Naira.

She was followed by Sehinde Favour (43 minutes 32 seconds), Folorunso Fayokemi (44 minutes, 38 seconds), Abolaji Iyanu (45 minutes) and Oduluyi Jumoke (46 minutes, 42 seconds).

Others are: Ekundayo Olajumoke (47 minutes, 42 seconds), Anyigor Serah (49 minutes, 11 seconds), John Mary (49 minutes, 36 seconds) and Ajeyomi Bukola (49 minutes, 49 seconds).

In the male indigene category, Shedowo Adewale came first at 34 minutes 51 seconds while Lawal Azeez was his first runner up at 35 minutes 16 seconds.

Others are: Arowolo Tunde (36 minutes, 17 seconds), Angyom Joseph (36 minutes, 42 seconds), Aruleba Tomisin (36 minutes 57 seconds), Ilesanmi Wasiu (37 minutes, 14 seconds), Bashiru Mukaila (37 minutes, 22 seconds) Olonilua Temilade (37 minutes 36 seconds) and Asaolu Femi (38 minutes, 07 seconds).

Okemesi Ekiti-born 14-year-old Dolapo Morakinyo was apparently the youngest participant.

The State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi congratulated the winners and presented them with their prizes.

The Ikogosi 10 Kilometers Marathon Race was initiated by the Fayemi-led government to showcase talents and partner relevant private sector to develop the sports industry in Ekiti State.

Leave a Reply