Sodiq Taiwo & Yemisi Olatunji Win Zimbabwe Open Squash Championship [2017]

Sodiq Taiwo, has won Zimbabwe Open Squash Championship after beating compatriot Olanrewaju Abulrahaman 3-2 in a closely contested final at Suburbs Squash Club. Yemisi Olatunji beat Zimbabwean Yvonne Mubure 3-0 in the women’s final. Olatunji was awarded $750.

In the men’s match that lasted 86 minutes, Taiwo won 15-13, 9-11, 11-8, 6-11, 11-7 to claim the first prize of $1,000, while Abulrahaman took home $500.

Zambian Manda Chilambwe took third place with a 3-0 victory over his countryman Frank Wabo. Chilambwe, a former winner of the tournament, returned to Zambia with $250 and Wabo $150.

Eleven-year-old Ryan Gwidzima, the country’s Under-13 champion, won the plate final 3-0 against 16-year-old Brighton Nyakabawo. Gwidzima pocketed $150 for his effort and Nyakabawo got $50.

Mike Burns and Neil Nesbitt reclaimed the doubles title with a 3-1 triumph over Matthew Mulaji and Janeel Giga. Burns and Nesbitt got $500, while Mulaji and Giga took home $300.

Freddy Chishimba was crowned veterans’ champion for the second year in a row with a 3-0 win over Zimbabwean Jeffrey Fenwick. Chishimba received $300 and $150 went to Fenwick.

Leave a Reply