Winners Of 2020 Nigerian University Golf Tour

Bamikole Paul, eight-handicapper and defending champion of the Nigerian university golf tour, has retained his title at the 5th edition of the tourney.

The Nigerian University Golf Tour took place at the Smokin Hills Golf Resort in Ilara Mokin near Akure, Ondo state between March 13 to 15 [2020].

Bamikole Paul stood clear above 89 other players at the annual event with his 82, ten over gross score to reclaim the title he won last year.

According to Bamikole Paul at the prize-giving dinner to close the tour:

“I am very delighted to have achieved this feat despite the competitive nature of the tour. I think my hardwork was paid off and I look forward to winning again next year.”

Paul’s feat projected the Ekiti State University as having produced a back to back winner.

Olakunle Olalere of the Elizade University, which happens to be the host, was one shot off Paul’s score to pick the runner-up in the male category while Toyin Olusegun, a twenty eight handicapper from Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA), shot 106 gross to emerge the best female player.

She had one shot better than Tawa Ademola who chalked 107.

The event, jointly organized by Elizade University, Smokin Hills Golf Resort and Wole Adamolekun Foundation for all Nigerian universities, had sponsors who include Toyota Nigeria Limited, Work and Play, JAC Motors and Wema Bank

Olukayode Amund, vice-chancellor of the Elizade University, who performed the ceremonial tee-off, enjoined the competitors to see golf as an instrument of integration locally and internationally.

On his part, Bayo Aderinto, manager of the Smokin Hills Golf facility, said the tour was conceptualized in 2015 to stimulate golf interest among the youth and to teach them the relevant skill for integration after graduation.

According to Bayo Aderinto:

“Golf is a social skill and we believe it gives the players some measures of advantage. This event is our social responsibility and one of our development agendas for golf.”

Students from twelve universities and two elementary and secondary schools competed for honours.

They include Federal University of Technology Akure, Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife, Federal University Dutse, University of Ibadan, Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba and Ekiti State University.

Others are I-Tree International School, Ilorin and Arandun Grammar School, Ilorin.

In the caddies category, Monday Adefila emerged winner with Ayo Adebumiti coming second.

Banji Otitoju shot 94 gross to win the male guest category while Olukayode Daisi came second with 93 gross, leaving Lawani Biodun who shot 100 gross shots in the third place.

Evelyn Balogun emerged winner in the female category while Akin Falodun won the veteran’s top prize.

Leave a Reply