Winners Of 2020 PwC Media Excellence Awards

Winners have emerged at the 2020 PwC Media Excellence Awards.

The PwC Media Excellence Awards celebrates and rewards excellence in business reporting in Nigeria. The competition is open to professional journalists on a full time employment or freelancers, working in Nigeria, who have produced a story that falls within the categories covered by the award and that is available on a platform whose primary audience is Nigeria.

The overall quality improved so much to a level that PwC decided to award prizes to 10 additional entries.

Mr. Uyi Akpata, Country Senior Partner of PwC, gave the welcome remarks and kicked-off proceedings for the 2020 PwC Media Excellence Awards, the 5th edition.

In his words:

“It’s been a challenging year with COVID-19 disrupting our lives in ways we never previously imagined.

As a business with a deliberate strategy of making greater societal impact, we launched an initiative tagged PwC Cares to support businesses, governments and individuals in responding to the impacts of the pandemic and build resilience.

Today’s event is an extension of that commitment to society and especially to this very important community of professionals who play a key role in the sustenance of our democracy and the advancement of society in general.

I congratulate the winners in advance. And I also thank all of you for joining us tonight to celebrate them.”

Winners Of 2020 PwC Media Excellence Awards

  • The PwC Journalist of the year for Tax Reporting Category


Odinaka Anudu of BusinessDay (Winner – for the entry; “How Lagos Revenue goes into private pockets.”)

Joseph Jibueze of The Nation

Mayowa Tijani of The Cable

Ayoade Olatokewa of Kiss FM

Amos Abba of The International Centre for Investigative Reporting

  • The PwC Journalist of the year for Capital Markets Reporting Category


Taiwo Adebulu of The Cable (Winner – for the entry; “Fact Check: Nigeria told UN that 7 varsities run strictly on renewable energy, but is this true?”)

Aderemi Ojekunle of Dataphyte

Collins Nweze of The Nation

Temple Asaju of Channels TV

Femi Adekoya of The Guardian

  • The PwC Journalist of the year for SMEs Reporting Category


Isaac Anyaogu of BusinessDay (Winner – for the entry; “A fistful of poisoned gold.”)

Chijioke Arinze of Ripples Nigeria

Odinaka Anudu of BusinessDay

Abubakar Idris of Tech Cabal

Irene Ubani of PlusTV

  • The PwC Journalist of the year for Business & Economy Reporting Category


Tunde Ajaja of The Punch (Winner – for the entry; “Dangerous cylinders: Needless deaths in Nigeria’s poorly regulated cooking gas sector I & II”)

Akinrinade Olukunle of The Nation

Chinedu Asadu of The Cable

Temitayo Ayetoto of BusinessDay

Taiwo Adebulu of The Cable

Leave a Reply