Winners Of 2020 West Africa Media Excellence Conference And Awards (WAMECA)

Winners have emerged at the 2020 West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA), which held at Alisa Hotels, Accra, Ghana on November 14, 2020.

The award, “Social Media, Fake News and Elections in Africa” recognises exceptional reporters in the diverse field of journalism and celebrates and promotes media excellence in West Africa.

The West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA) is an initiative by the Media Foundation for West Africa to promote media excellence in the sub-region. WAMECA is a two-part event: a Conference and an Awards ceremony for journalists.

Winners Of 2020 West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA)

  • Overall Best Winner of the West African Journalist of the Year: Manasseh Azure Awuni (Ghana)

His investigative documentary titled “Grounded Wheels” won the best report in the anti-corruption category and was adjudged the overall best from a total of 740 entries received from 13 countries.

The documentary was produced and aired on JoyNews in February 2019.

Mr. Manasseh Azure Awuni has won the WAMECA ultimate prize twice in the four-year history of the awards.

In 2018, his “Robbing the Assemblies” investigative documentary was adjudged the best anti-corruption report and it earned him the overall best award.

  • Best Reporter, Telecommunications and ICTs: Innocent Duru (Nigeria)
  • Best Reporter, Business and SMEs: Kelechukwu Iruoma (Nigeria)

He won for his investigation on “How Thugs Rule in Rivers Markets, Force Multiple Illegal Taxes on Petty Traders”, which was funded and published by The ICIR.

Iruoma’s report exposed how thugs forced traders in various markets across Rivers State to pay multiple illegal taxes and how this affected their businesses.

His investigation showed that, in most markets in Rivers State, traders usually create space on the main road to sell their goods because shops and stalls provided by the government inside the markets are too pricey.

  • Best Reporter, Investigative Reporting: Fisayo Soyombo (Nigeria)
  • Best Reporter, Environmental Reporting: Olatunji Ololade (Nigeria)
  • Best Reporter, Human Rights: Funke Busari (Nigeria)
  • Best Reporter, Health Reporting: Musa Ngom (Senegal)
Notify of

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments