Winners Of 2022 Janet Adowei Memorial Invitational Scrabble Tournament

Winners have emerged at the 2022 Janet Adowei Memorial Invitational Scrabble Tournament held at Novetal Hotel, Lekki, Lagos on November 13, 2022.

The yearly competition, organised by Lekki Scrabble Club President, Ebikeme Adowei, in honour of his late mother, featured top players in different categories.

After keenly contesting in 12 rounds of games on match day, the players, delighted by the Janet Adowei Scrabble Tourney, commended the organisers for giving them another platform to hone their skills.

President of the Nigeria Scrabble Federation, Toke Aka, who also participated in the event, said the federation would begin to use the championship to rate Nigeria players.

In the words of Toke Aka:

“We urge more scrabble players to start competing in the tourney, as it is now in the NSF calendar. NSF commends Adowei for helping to develop scrabble in Nigeria.”

In his remarks, Adowei said the competition was aimed at discovering new talents and involving Nigerian players in more competitive games as he stated:

“I thank Nigerian scrabble players for attending the event. The NSF has declared that the championship would be a ranking event. So, from next year, I believe more players will register to be part of it.”

At the end of the competition, Ezinore George received 80,000 for winning the event, while Emmanuel Egbele, who won the Best Opens category and Olatunde Adigun, who won the intermediate category, as well as current African champion, Enoch Nwali, who won the best student category, were rewarded for their efforts.

Doko Timilehin was crowded the second overall best player and Tunde Adigun placed third.

Notify of

1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments