2021 Oritsemeyiwa Amorighoye Poetry Competition

Recently updated on October 28th, 2021 at 06:53 pm

The 2021 Oritsemeyiwa Amorighoye Poetry Competition is organised to recognise and celebrate the life of Mr. Oritsemeyiwa Amorighoye in the year 2021.

The online poetry event with the theme “How love and respect take important for friendship wey get head” is aimed at promoting positive and purposeful friendship(s) based upon the values of love and respect.

2021 Oritsemeyiwa Amorighoye Poetry Competition

Eligibility and expectation(s):

  1. Open to everyone
  2. One (1) post submission per person/participant
  3. Participation is free – at no cost to the participants
  4. The language acceptable for the entire poem submission is Pidgin.
  5. Timelines (GMT +1; Nigerian time)
  6. PositiveNaija Team (excluding Volunteers) and members of the Igbe family are not eligible.
  7. Must be original, no plagiarism and not previously published.
  8. Truth, logical consistency, narrative structure/organisation, creativity/initiative.
  9. Once a poem is submitted, it is considered a final submission and may not be modified, edited, or replaced.

Poetry format:

  • Maximum of 250 words.
  • At the beginning or end of the essay, state only your full names, nationality, email and telephone number(s).
  • Must be submitted in both MS Word & Portable Document format (PDF).

Reward [cash prizes]: Top three (3): 7,000 each

Reward [certificates]: Top three (3)

Reward [publishing]: Top three (3) will be published on PositiveNaija


  • Submission dates by participants: 26 July 2021 – 26 October 2021.
  • PositiveNaija reviews and selects the top three (3) best entries: October 2021.
  • Payments made and certificates issued to winners on 31st October 2021.

Entries received: Nine (9)

Final reviewers: PositiveNaija

Winners: Orere Israel Oghenefejiro; Eme Efa Etim; and Olowolagba Tahir Ayodeji.


*The order of the names does not imply their positions in the competition (rather, largely in the order their poems were received).

1. Chidera Udochukwu
2. Eme Efa Etim
3. Olowolagba Tahir Ayodeji
4. Ofili Emmanuella Belema
5. Oqua Efa Etim
6. Adeoye Favour Isaiah
7. Eyo Gabriel Oboko
8. Daniel Bassey Eta
9. Orere Israel Oghenefejiro



Deadline: 26 October 2021 | 11:59 PM (GMT +1)

Email: positivenaija@yahoo.com


Acceptance of Terms

By participating you declare that you accept these terms and conditions.


*Last updated: 28 October 2021

Notify of

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments