UNILORIN Wins 2016 All-Nigeria Universities Debating Championship (ANUDC)

The University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) has won the 2016 All-Nigeria Universities Debating Championship (ANUDC), beating 19 other universities that participated in the competition.

The University of Calabar came second while the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA), took the third position.

The All-Nigeria Universities Debating Championship (ANUDC), which is the fourth in the series, took place at the Covenant University, Sango-Ota, Ogun State between July 9 and July 16, 2016.

Continue reading UNILORIN Wins 2016 All-Nigeria Universities Debating Championship (ANUDC)

Umar Ahmad 4.00

Malaysian Research University, the Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) has awarded Umar Ahmad, Certificate of Merit for being the best student to graduate with Outstanding Distinction with a CGPA of 4.00 in his Master of Science by Research in area of Medical Anatomy.

In addition, Umar Ahmad has published 5 papers from his Master Thesis in a peer review, high impact scientific journals. He participated in about 30 different professional certification workshops and attended many international seminars, conferences, and scientific gathering during his master studies.

His major research activities in basic and translational research focus on developing targeted therapies for human cancer and he is currently interested in the targeting and identification of genes involved in breast cancer metastasis, neuroblastoma prognosis, anti-angiogenic factors relates to NDV virus and apoptotic pathways in cancer such as how the virus stimulates DNA fragmentation, which will of course be relevant in drug development and initiate virotherapy application for cancer patients. In recognition of his accomplishment, he was offered to service Malaysian Journal of Microscopy (MJM) as their Sub-editor.

Umar Ahmad was among the best students in Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nigeria, where he had his undergraduate degree at Medical Faculty of the University and graduated in 2010.