Emmanuel Gyan Gwom & Deborah Gwom Win 2019 Okpekpe Race [Nigerian Category]

Emmanuel Gyan Gwom and Deborah Gwom have won the Nigerian category of the 2019 Okpekpe Race in the male and female categories respectively.

Emmanuel Gyan Gwom was the first Nigerian runner with a time of 31.42 seconds, while his wife Deborah won the female category.

Deborah had won all the previous editions in this category.

For the first time since its inception, the IAAF Silver Label Okpekpe Road Race produced a non-African winner.

Fikadu Dawit from Bahrain emerged as the overall winner of the male race at this year’s event having finished in a time of 29.03 seconds.

Berehanu Tsegu from Ethiopia with a time of 29.04 seconds and John Lotiang from Kenya with a time of 29.17 seconds finished in second and third place respectively.

In the female category, Sheela Chelangat from Kenya was the top finisher, winning with a time of 33.14 seconds, while her compatriot Tuitoek Jepchirchrir, who reached the finish line after 33.18 seconds, finished in second place.

Gudeta Getachew was the third female runner with a time of 33.41 seconds.

Leave a Reply