Merciful Nwafor And Oyedeji Moyinoluwa Win 2023 National Travel Essay Competition

Miss Merciful Nwafor of the University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN) Enugu Campus and Miss Oyedeji Moyinoluwa of Princeton College, Surulere, Lagos have emerged winners of the 2023 National Travel Essay Competition (12th NTEC) in the tertiary institutions and secondary schools categories of the contest respectively.

The essay topics include: “Implications and Threats of Unruly Passengers To Safe And Secure Air Travel,” for the Secondary Schools; and “Curbing The Trafficking Of Illicit Drugs In Nigeria,” for Tertiary Institutions.

Both winners emerged in the 2023 National Travel Essay Competition following a robust session of oral defense of their respective essays before a select group of Independent Assessors at the Grand Finale of NTEC 2023 which held on May 27, 2023 at the Interguide Academy, Toyin Street, Ikeja, Lagos.

The panel was chaired by the Managing Director of Skyway Aviation Handling Company (SAHCO) Plc, Mr. Basil Agboarumi. He was joined by Professor Effiom Uku of Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NIMET), and others.

Founder and Coordinator of NTEC, Mr. Ewos Iroro, said:

“The topics for this year’s competition were carefully chosen following recent developments and repeat occurrences in the sector regarding incidences of unruly passengers and increased levels in trafficking of illicit drugs through the airports which pose serious safety and security threats to the aviation sector and the nation at large with untold implications.”

Merciful Nwafor received a cash prize of ₦150,000 and a free ticket to South Africa sponsored by South African Airways (SAA). In the same vein, Oyedeji Moyinoluwa was rewarded with a cash prize of ₦100,000 and a free ticket for herself and a parent to Accra, Ghana sponsored by Africa World Airlines (AWA).

Oshimade Abisola of Abiolu College, Igando, Lagos came second with a cash prize of ₦60,000, while Ademigbaji Favour of Sunshine Diamond College, Ibadan emerged third with a cash prize of ₦40,000 in the secondary schools category.

Similarly, in the tertiary institutions category, Miss Daikpor Anthonia took second place with a cash prize of ₦100,000 closely followed in third place by Olatunji Deborah with a cash prize of ₦50,000. Both students were of the University of Lagos. All the winners were also showered with various gift items courtesy of Peak Milk. Participants and guests at the event were equally all treated to a refreshingly cold beverage of peak milk as the events of the day unfolded.

Notify of

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments