Winners Of 2017 CBN Sustainable Banking Awards

Winners have emerged in the inaugural Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN Sustainable Banking Awards.

Access Bank PLC received top honours at the inaugural Nigeria CBN Sustainable Banking Awards convened by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) in recognition of its outstanding success and leadership in Nigeria’s sustainable development.

Access Bank emerged the winner across all four categories during the award presentation which took place in Lagos on December 9, 2017. The categories are as follows: Sustainable Bank of the Year; Sustainable Transaction of the Year (Oil and Gas Sector); Sustainable Transaction of the Year (Agriculture) and Excellence in Women Economic Empowerment.

As stated by Dr. Herbert Wigwe, the Managing Director/CEO of Access Bank Group:

“We are truly honoured to have been selected as the overall winner in all the categories of this prestigious award. Sustainability is embedded into every aspect of our business operations, it is simply a way of life for us at Access Bank. It is inspiring to receive recognition for our longstanding success in adhering to sustainable banking principles.”

While we are delighted by the numerous accolades, this level of recognition from our regulators is particularly significant because it serves as validation that our tireless efforts are essential to the development of Nigeria’s Sustainability journey.”

Access Bank began its sustainability journey in 2008 and has led various initiatives in line with the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals. In 2012, the bank championed the implementation of the Nigerian Sustainable Banking Principles, which have now been adopted nationwide.

2 thoughts on “Winners Of 2017 CBN Sustainable Banking Awards”

Leave a Reply