Winners of Mike Okonkwo National Essay Competition [2017]

Alexandra Nwigwe, Jesudunta Mercy and Akingbade Gbenga, have emerged winners of the 14th Mike Okonkwo National Essay competition initiated in the year 2004, towards contributing to the development of the education sector.

Miss Alexandra Nwigwe of Vivian Fowler Memorial College Lagos emerged the overall winner for the Mike Okonkwo National Essay Competition for secondary school students for the year 2017, with 90 percent in the first round and 80 percent in the second round of the competition.

Miss Jesudunta Mercy Ipinmoye of Corona Secondary School, Agbara won the second position with 80 and 72 percent respectively in the first and second round while Akingbade Gbenga of Emerald High School, Lagos came third. He scored 80 percent in the first round and 70 percent in the second round.

Other winners include Chinedu Chimezie of Cedar College, Ipaja, Adedeji Aderemi of Grange School, G.R.A Ikeja, Atoyebi Israel of Kings College, Lagos, Olalere Victor of Deeper Life High School, Akure, Okadigbo Juliet of State Senior Grammar School, Surulere and Kolawole Oladunni of Reagan Memorial Baptist Girls Secondary School, Yaba.

For coming top in this year’s competition, Miss Nwigwe will get a cheque of 100, 000, a Laptop, a plaque, while the school gets three sets of Computer and a printer.

Ipinmoye will go home with a cheque of 75, 000, a plaque while the school will get two sets of computer and a printer. For emerging third in the competition, Akingbade will be rewarded with a cheque of 50, 000 and a plaque while the school gets a Computer set. The other winners will get a consolation price of 20, 000 each.

Leave a Reply