Winners Of 2019 Abuja International Film Festival (AIFF)

Winners have emerged at the 2019 Abuja International Film Festival (AIFF) held at the Silverbird Galleria on the 25th of October 2019.

Gabriel Afolayan won the outstanding actor award for his role in the acclaimed Nollywood film ‘Gold Statue’. He is part of the renowned Afolayan entertainment family that comprises Ade Love, Kunle Afolayan and Aremu Afolayan.

Aevese Emokpae won the outstanding actress award for her role in ‘The Unbreakable’.

Sagacious Osarunwese won the First Time Director Award for his film ‘Snatched’.

The Outstanding Feature Film (foreign) and the Outstanding Film In Directing trophies were clinched by Chinese Zhang Yimou for his film ‘The Great Wall’.

The outstanding short film (Nigeria) award was won by Adebola Ogunsina for ‘And the Winner Is’.

Outstanding Music Score Nominee was on by ‘Ignored’ (Nigeria); Outstanding Animation film was won by ‘Is Written’ (Italy) and Outstanding Student Film Nominee was won by ‘Camo Cross’ (Nigeria).

The Outstanding Feature Film Nominee (Nigeria) was clinched by Judith Audu’s ‘The Family’ and the Outstanding Experimental Film award went to ‘Hatred’ (Nigeria) by Saheed Adebayo.

Congo DRC’s film ‘Heart of Africa’ won the coveted Golden Jury Award, among other winners.

In his closing remark, Mr. Fidelis Duker, founder of the Abuja International Film Festival (AIFF) said that in line with the festival’s objective, the award was to encourage filmmakers.

The Abuja International Film Festival, organised by NAFIFO Ventures Ltd., started in 2004. It is a platform where film actors and producers within and outside Nigeria are showcased to foster interactions for co-production, distribution and investments.

The festival features master classes, seminars, panel discussions and awards for films, actors and other stakeholders nominated for the AIFF awards.

The 2019 award night was hosted by veteran actor Segun Arinze.

Leave a Reply