Winners Of 2020 Nigeria Media Merit Award (NMMA)

Winners have emerged at the 2020 Nigeria Media Merit Award (NMMA), held at the Sheraton Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos on the 18th of December 2020.

The Chairman, Panel of Assessors, Nigeria Media Merit Awards, Professor Ralph Akinfeleye, said in spite of the uncertainties of 2020, the media responded to the call for entries “overwhelmingly”.

He noted that the panel received a total of 895 entries from 665 entrants, as against the 752 entries it got from 520 entrants in 2019.

Professor Akinfeleye, however, said no award was given in seven categories because none of the entries met the 70 percent cut off mark for nomination.

They are the Brand Marketing Reporter of the Year, Oil and Gas Reporter of the Year, Aviation Industry Reporter of the Year, Business Publication of the Year, Radio Broadcaster of the Year, TV Production of the Year, and TV Drama of the Year.

Winners Of 2020 Nigeria Media Merit Award (NMMA)

Punch Newspaper

Ademola Oni won the Dele Giwa Prize for Editor of the Year.

Samson Folarin won the Alex Ibru Prize for Investigative Reporter of the Year. He won with his entry titled, ‘Certificate, plagiarism scandal rocks Nnamdi Azikiwe University’, a 10-part series which led to the sacking of a senior lecturer and withdrawal of his fraudulently acquired certificates, including verification of certificates of staff of UNIZIK.

Tunde Ajaja won the Bukola Saraki Prize for Agriculture Reporter of the Year with his entry titled, ‘Remarkable tales of youths who found gold on farmland’.

The Guardian Newspaper

Prize for Editorial Writing of the Year.

Ifetoye Oluwasegun won the Bashorun MKO Abiola Prize for Sports Reporter of the Year.

The Nation Newspaper

Babatunde Jose Prize for Newspaper of the Year.

Innocent Duru won the Cecil King Memorial Prize for Print Journalist of the Year.

Innocent Duru won the Olu Aboderin Prize for Entertainment Reporter of the Year .

Yusuf Apekhade won the Adamu Muazu Prize for Tourism Reporter of the Year.

Abiodun William won the News Photographer of the Year.

The Telegraph

Ayeyemi Jacob won the Nigerite Prize for Real Estate/Construction Reporter of the Year.

Radio Nigeria

Mary Fatile won the Radio Reporter of the Year for her entry, ‘Missing Women involving Olabisi Olabanjo University Teaching Hospital, Ago Iwoye.’

Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN)

Radio Station of the Year.

Television Continental (TVC)

NBC Prize for Television Station of the Year.

Sharon Ijasan won the Cadbury Nigeria Plc Prize for Television Reporter of the Year for her entry, ‘Child Labour’.

Channels TV

Gimbar Umar won the Television Newscaster of the Year.

Ladi Akeredeolu-Ale won the Television Programme Presenter of the Year.


Simon Utebor won the MTN Prize for Telecommunications Reporter of the Year with his entry, ‘Telecoms base stations under siege of battery, inverter robbers, poorly-paid guards’.

Leave a Reply