Oluwatobi Ojo Wins 2019 NNPC National Science Quiz Competition

Oluwatobi Ojo has won the 2019 Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) Science Quiz Competition for secondary schools across Nigeria.

Oluwatobi Ojo emerged as the winner at the grand finale of the competition held at the NNPC Towers in Abuja on November 21, 2019.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria, a pupil of APT Scholars Universal College, Ota, Oluwatobi Ojo, won the first prize for Ogun state with 80 points, while Mbazu Justice from CSMT Staff Secondary School, Abakaliki in Ebonyi State, took the second position with 70+points.

Nwachukwu Ugochukwu of Dority International School Aba, Abia State, took the third position with 70 points.

The Group Managing Director of NNPC, Malam Mele Kyari, said the corporation would continue to contribute toward the development of the education sector, so as to ensure a greater Nigeria.

He added that the competition was one aspect of the corporation’s effort in supporting nation building.

According to Malam Mele Kyari:

“Building a successful nation has to deal with talent management and as a corporation we try to recognise them young and help them to development it well.”

Also, the President of the Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, urged the pupils to put in their best in whatever they did in life as leaders of tomorrow.

He commended the NNPC for the initiative adding that it had helped to develop a lot of scientists in the country.

Speaking on behalf of the participants, Oluwatobi Ojo, commended the NNPC for the initiative and thanked all his teachers and parents for their support.

In his words:

“I am very grateful to the NNPC for the opportunity and for initiatives such as this. This competition has made me to read hard. I am happy to emerge as the winner.

I am grateful to my teachers, parents and all the organisers.

With this competition, I am very sure I will pass all my exams very well.”

The corporation, also in its report, said the competition started at the grassroots level in each of the 774 local government areas in the country and the best three pupils proceeded to the state level.

According to the report:

“At the state level, the best pupil in each state emerges and proceeds to the zonal level and each winner at this level is entitled to a one-off educational grant of 100,000.”

It further noted that the states at the geopolitical zones meet at different times to compete among themselves and to determine the best three states to compete at the national grand finale.

The winner received a scholarship award to study up to university valued at 300,000 per academic session, while the first and second runners-up got 250,000 and 200,000, respectively.

Leave a Reply