Medicine 5.0

Nigerian student Victor Olalusi, scores 5.0 GPA in Russia

Dangote Cement Launches Plant in Zambia

Dangote Cement inaugurates $400 million cement plant and 30 megawatts (MW) coal-fired power plant in Zambia.

The new plant, with the capacity to produce 1.5 million metric tonnes per annum (MTPA) is located in Masaiti District, Ndola town in Zambia.

The cement plant with the power plant came at a cost $420 million. The plant has already started production.

Speaking during the commissioning, President of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, said the $400 million spent on the new cement plant came from Nigeria, saying that with the plant, the company now has about 14 cement plants located in several countries in Africa.

He added that the power plant would generate 30 MW, while 20 MW of the generated power would be used by the company while the remaining 10 MW would be reserved.

2016 Hult Prize

A Nigerian student from Warwick Business School is part of a team competing for the chance to win $1 million after entering the sixth Annual Hult Prize. Lola Apampa’s team SEED is one of two teams from Warwick Business School who have reached the regional finals.

Gombe-Kafancha-Kaduna Inter-city Train

Nigeria completes rehabilitation of Gombe-Kafancha-Kaduna inter-city train

Polio Progress

Interruption of transmission in Nigeria has opened door for polio-free Africa, says WHO